Recipients of blind persons' allowances and mothers' allowances are eligible for limited medical services from the Medical Society of Nova Scotia and persons in any of the public assistance categories as well as other indigents are entitled to receive hospitalization as a municipal responsibility.

New Brunswick.—The Health Branch of the Department of Health and Social Services includes the following Divisions: Hospital Services and Cancer Control, Laboratories, Public Health Nursing, Communicable and Venereal Disease Control, Tuberculosis Control, Maternal and Child Health, Dental Health, Mental Health, and Sanitary Engineering.

All district medical health officers and most public health nurses are employed by the Province and other local health services are appointed by the boards of health of 16 local health sub-districts, each corresponding to a county. Usually from two to four sub-districts are serviced by a district medical health officer assisted by public health nurses. Certain locally administered nursing and sanitary inspection services are subsidized by the Province.

Pathological, bacteriological, serological and chemical tests are provided by the Provincial Laboratories at Saint John and two regional laboratories at Moneton and Fredericton. Free distribution of biologicals and other materials for the prevention of communicable disease and insulin for indigent diabetics is supervised by the Provincial Laboratories. Free diagnostic services for tuberculosis are provided in ten centres, including a central clinic operated by the New Brunswick Tuberculosis Association at Saint John. The Health Department supervises and provides free treatment in two privately operated, one municipal and two provincially owned sanatoria. One clinic for the treatment of venereal disease is operated at Saint John.

Eleven cancer diagnostic clinics provide free diagnosis and free tissue-examination service. X-ray and radium treatments are provided without charge in four of the larger hospitals to patients who come under the supervision of the cancer clinics. Acute and postparalytic cases of poliomyelitis also receive free hospital treatment and grants are made to the Junior Red Cross to provide free treatment for other crippling conditions in children.

A mental health program includes the operation of three community clinics for diagnosis and treatment and a day training school for mentally retarded children at Saint John. Hospitalization for mental illness is available in the provincial hospitals at Lancaster and Campbellton.

Provincial per diem grants are paid on behalf of all patients to approved general hospitals.

Quebec.—The Ministry of Health maintains the following Divisions: County Health Units, Sanitary Engineering, Epidemiology, Laboratories, Demography, Psychiatric Hospitals, Public Charities, Industrial Hygiene, Nutrition, Venereal Disease, Tuberculosis, Health Education, and Medical Services to Settlers.

The Division of County Health Units supplies services through 67 county and multicounty health units covering more than 60 p.c. of the population of the Province. The maintenance and operation of these units, each with a full time medical health officer assisted by public health nurses and sanitary inspectors, is the responsibility of the Ministry of Health, with small local financial contributions. In addition full time health departments operated by the larger cities serve more than one-third of the provincial population. Drugs supplied by the Provincial Department to physicians and health units include vaccines, sera, streptomycin for sanatoria patients and penicillin for venereal disease. Laboratory services, including bacteriological and other analyses, are available to physicians and health units at the Central Laboratory, Montreal.

The Province organizes tuberculosis clinics in rural areas and gives assistance to city agencies operating clinics or dispensaries for prevention, case-finding and treatment. BCG immunization against tuberculosis, administered to new-born infants in hospitals